About Us

Home / About Us
Women's Rights
Who We Are
Our Mission & Vision as a Community of Women.
Our Mission
The AAWJ’s main mission is to promote the female judicial role of protecting the rights of individuals under the rule of law through strong & diverse judicial leadership; fairness and equality in the courts; and equal access to justice.
Our Vision
Our vision is to create a dynamic community of engaged & linked Women Judges in Australia and Internationally, through Educational Programs, National & International Conferences and Networking Activities.

AAWJ Committee

Members of the AAWJ Committee include:


Fleur Kingham, President Land Court Queensland


Julie McIntyre, Justice Supreme Court of South Australia


Beverly Schurr, Retired Magistrate NSW Local Court


Peta Stilgoe, Member Queensland Land Court


Judge Robyn Tupman, District Court NSW

ACT Members:

Chrissa Loukas-Karlsson, Justice ACT Supreme Court

Jane Campbell, Magistrate ACT Magistrates Court

FEDERAL Members:

Diana Bryant, Retired Chief Justice Family Court of Australia, Victoria

Geri Ettinger, Retired Senior Member AAT, NSW

Linda Kirk, Senior Member AAT, NSW

Charlotte Kelly, Judge Federal Circuit Court, Adelaide

Berna Collier, Justice Federal Court of Australia, Queensland

NSW Members:

Nicola Pain, Justice NSW Land and Environment Court

NT Members:

Jenny Blokland, Justice NT Supreme Court

Elizabeth Morris, Chief Judge NT Local Court

QLD Members:

Barbara Kent, Member, QCAT

SA Members:

Jay Pandya, Magistrate SA Magistrates’ Court

Maria Panagiotidis, Magistrate SA Magistrates’ Court

TAS Members: 

Jackie Hartnett, Magistrate Tasmanian Magistrates’ Court

Helen Wood, Justice Supreme Court of Tasmania

VIC Members:

Frances Millane, Retired Judge County Court Victoria and VP VCAT

Caitlin English, Judge County Court of Victoria

WA Members:

Mara Barone, Judge District Court of WA

Genevieve Cleary, Magistrate WA Magistrates’ Court


The Sub-Committees of the AAWJ include:

Diversity Sub-Committee

Jay Pandya, Jacqui Payne, and Geri Ettinger

Climate Change Sub-Committee  (click here to read the Terms of Reference)

Geri Ettinger, Rachel Pepper, Peta Stilgoe

CEVAW Sub-Committee (Centre for the Elimination of Violence Against Women) 

Caitlin English, Diana Bryant, Frances Millane, Julie McIntyre


Last updated 08 November 2023

Our Beginnings…
Founded in 1991 by the Hon. Justice Jane Mathews AO of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, the Australian Association of Women Judges (AAWJ) is the Australian member association of the Washington DC-based International Association of Women Judges (IAWJ), a non-profit, non-governmental organization whose members represent all levels of the judiciary worldwide and whose activities are centred around support for women in the judiciary, and access to justice. The current President of the AAWJ is Her Hon. President Fleur Kingham of the Land Court of Queensland.